Previous Years

YAM 2014 Information - See Archive...

YAM 2015 Gallery - Click for 2015 Gallery

YAM 2015 Information - See Archive...

YAM 2016 Information - See Archive...

YAM 2016 Gallery - See Archive...


  Youth Art Month

YAM 2014 Information

Thank you to Sargent Art for sponsoring the 2014 YAM flag contest.

The Maryland Art Education Association is pleased to announce the 

2014 Youth Arts Month Flag Design Contest Winners!


The winning entry receives a paid trip for the artist, one parent, and their art teacher to visit museums in New York City!

Grand Prize: Brieanne Trevorrow

Grade 12, Catoctin High School in Thurmont MD

Art Teacher - Laura Day


Each student and teacher wins a prize pack of art supplies from Sargent Art!

Inline image 8

Elementary: Jessica Ahn

Grade 3 at Washington Grove Elementary School

Art Teacher- Fran McCaskill

Inline image 2

Middle School: Grace Ahn

Grade 6 at Forest Oak Middle School

Art Teacher - Betsy Steel

Inline image 1

High School: Megan Newcomer

Grade 12 at Linganore High School

Art Teacher- Georgia Geisser

TOP 20 Student artwork from each grade level


Kelsie Barnard

Aanya Chawla

George Clessuras

Willow Job

Sophie Johnson

Sydney Ho

Valerie Honeycutt

Jared Luma

Jasmine McAuley

Vivian Monmaney

Ally Morrow

Natalia Nikitin

Jackie Palmer

Alison Peters

Schanze Qureshi

Ella Ready

Ashely Son

Zeze Tourky

Zoey Tsai

Jonathan Zhang

Middle School:

Jackson Ambush

Catherine Cochran

Megan Farrell

Jade Hall

Ju Kim

Yerin Kim

Cameron Luzarraga

Abby Maloid

Maeve Piola

Kate Querry

Jenna Remele

Laurel Rountree

Nicolette Sarnek

Lilly Stone

Becka Vining

Keara Watkins

Julia Wess

Emma* (art teacher Fains) 

Jenny* (art teacher Filipovich)

Michael* (art teacher Ivanac)

High School:

Caitlyn Battie-McDonald

Hannah Bewley

Kayla Cannon

Matthew Cary

Brian Chambers

Zakia Chikwendu

Destiny Christopher

Hailee Hayes

Jeixi Hu

Clarissa Iskandar

Kalief King

Kevin Kuo

Morgan Larocce

Maddison McGowan

Mehdi Moaddeb

Brittany Sanford

Kendall Sullivan

Erica Tang

Kalinda Vathupola

Brittany* (art teacher Diem)

Congratulations to all winners!

*indicates entries in the top 20 that did not include student's last name.

Teachers - if this is your student, please congratulate them and send their last name to  

Thank you!